Some people think that sports involving violence, such as boxing and martial arts, should be banned from TV as well as from international sporting competitions. To what extent do you agree?

It is controversial whether some sports and global sporting competitions with the use of violence should be broadcast on TV or not. I partially agree with this, for they are more likely to promote offensive acts among young people, who often cannot tell the difference between right and wrong, regardless of the fact that violent sports encourage people to respect one another. On the one hand, the use of violence in some sports on TV has a potential negative effect on young viewers since it can deliver the wrong message that violence is acceptable in any circumstances. In other words, many children tend to associate physical strength with victories and supreme power, promoting to use of violence to solve various conflicts in life. For instance, a scientific report conducted in Japan in 2020 has proved that the rate of those who respond in an offensive manner is approximately 30% higher when they have a habit of seeing violent sports programs than those who do not. Furthermore, they are often less patient in discussing problems with others to solve, believing that they are pointless as long as they possess good physical power to impress people. Therefore, the media should ban such violent sports programs to encourage more logical and humane acts of individuals. On the other hand, it is not necessary to eliminate abusive sports programs as athletes can be regarded as good role models to follow rules and respect their adversaries for fair play. Indeed, the audience is often impressed by their sophisticated techniques so they do not cause any serious harm or injuries to others. For example, even though boxers are breeding in their faces while they fight in a game, they are often not lethal and treated easily because they use violence to demonstrate their advanced skills and not to hurt others. In addition to such sports shows stressing the importance of obeying rules and manners, they are quite valuable resources, from which people are able to acquire self-defensive techniques in an emergency. Consequently, they are helpful in raising awareness of the importance of respecting others as well as protecting their own life. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that abusive sports programs should be prevented before children are encouraged to use violence in their daily lives. However, they should be put more values from an educational perspective as people are able to learn the essential moralities and gain the ability of self-protection in unexpected situations.