Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been an ongoing debate about whether talented artists should be provided subsidies from the governments or not. While a number of people believe that governments are the bodies responsible for such artists ’ income, I would argue that these people should be granted by other sources. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people think that art creators are deserved to be funded by the authorities. One of the reasons is that these individuals can make a significant contribution to their nations in many sectors. To illustrate, the exhibition of some worldwide influential artists would attract thousands of foreign tourists, therefore boosting the tourism industry. In addition, funding from governments may have an enormous impact on artists. Since there is less concern about finance, artists can fully concentrate on their works of art and may produce more masterpieces. On the other hand, I assume that the people working in the creative industry are supposed to receive support from any source except the government. Firstly, life is becoming easier for people with the development of technology so artists can generate income without help from the national bodies. For instance, they can use social media as a marketing tool by posting their artwork on it to attract many people to buy. Secondly, there are many far more important areas to which should be allocated money such as education or hospitality. If the governments invest too much in art, they will not have enough budget for these crucial sections, lowering residents' life quality. In conclusion, while there are some positive effects on artists when gaining support from the authorities, I still firmly hold the view that they had better make money in other ways.