Research has shown that spending much less time in workplace can reduce the use of energy. Thus, some companies close for some days a week. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

The facts have proved that electricity consumption can be reduced by limiting office hours. For the same, most enterprises are open from Monday to Friday so that some resources can be saved on weekends. In my opinion, it has more pros than cons as continued work from heavy appliances may consume more electrical energy. The employees can get some rest from sound. The primary reason for shutting down the office on weekends is that the machinery works all the time and as a result, the consumption of power increases and as a result the utility bill too. Thus, the cost of running the whole system is too high. In a big company, there are more than 100 computers, air- air-conditioners, light as well as fans and if the workplace remains shut down for several hours, it would indirectly or directly lead to a reduction in the usage of energy. Additionally, continuous work from the gadgets loses their life span and even raises the cost of maintenance. The fact that most offices or banks globally are closed on weekends proves the fact that 5-6 work days are healthy. Secondly, working seven days a week makes the employees exhausted as loud sound is heard by the workers. A person may use headphones for some time but the damage caused by it to ears is more. Additionally, long exposure to the noise may result in deafness for an individual. If the office is open for limited days, the people working there would be able to get some rest and if one individual works 10 hours a day and that too 7 days a week there are chances that the productivity of that person decreases with the time. The government of Canada limiting the hours of work to 40 per week supports the point that rest is essential. For the same cause, some enterprises shut down on weekends. To conclude, closing the workplace for a couple of hours is beneficial as it helps in the reduction of the electricity as well as sound eventually leaving a positive impact on the workplace as well as the worker.