At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, young people are accounting for a great part of the population of several nations rather than older ones. While I accept that having a more young population can have a number of detrimental effects on a country, I believe that this phenomenon is likely to have a positive impact. On the one hand, there are several drawbacks to young adults occupying the majority of the population. Firstly, the job market might be more competitive for the young generation. To be more specific, since there would be more young people seeking a job, the chance of being admitted to a business might be reduced significantly which contributes to the rise in unemployment rates. In addition, cities are ideal places for young people due to many factors such as employment opportunities or a high standard of living. Therefore, as more and more people would come here to live, these urban areas may face many problems, especially environmental pollution and a lack of accommodation. On the other hand, I assume that the young population can bring more benefits than drawbacks for some reasons. The first reason is that young people are the main labor force so it would help the nation’s economic development. In particular, the youngsters are more enthusiastic and creative, they would have a better performance in comparison to the older ones. Another reason is that young people usually require less healthcare service, thus, the need for nursing homes as well as medical expenses would decrease considerably. As a result, there would be more money for the community budgets of the governments. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the dominance of young people in a country’s population can have several disadvantages, however, it seems to me that they are far more outweighed by the advantages.