Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

International news is streamed nowadays on television and social media. However, there are groups of people who believe that global news should be taught in schools as a subject. Meanwhile, others believe that it would be a waste of time. This essay discusses the different perspectives of both groups, and I will give my opinion. On the one hand, there are multiple reasons to teach international news in schools. One reason for this belief is to encourage students to correspond with global issues. For example, international news covers different topics, such as politics and natural disasters. Moreover, learning about these areas at a young age expands their insights into other countries. Another reason is to encourage them to change these issues in the future. For instance, mentors provide explanations of international news and the history related to these topics. Furthermore, the students may start positive movements on social media to change certain situations. On the other hand, there are several reasons why teaching this is not appropriate and is a waste of time. One reason is that the news is reachable. For example, the news is streamed on television and social media platforms. Whereas, academic subjects should be prioritised for future college applications. Another reason is that the course may cover news with graphic content. Thus, it could be both a distraction and stress on the student, disrupting their academic performance and mental health. Lastly, the possibility of providing false information can be misleading. For instance, international news could be delivered through biased channels or written by biased journalists. This may result in spreading misconceptions in classrooms among generations. In conclusion, it is clear to see that teaching international news has both pros and cons. I believe that teaching international news as a subject is crucial to expand generational knowledge