In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In several countries, the number of obese people is growing significantly along with the potential for many serious health problems. There are many reasons for these issues and some solutions should be taken to reduce the obesity rate as well as increase their levels of health. There are many reasons that lead to the increase in the rate of overweight people. The first principle is related to the cost and convenience of fast food. To be more specific, the price for a meal in a fast- food restaurant is quite cheap and people don’t even have to cook and wait too long to get the food. Therefore, people are likely to choose fast food rather than healthier food such as vegetables or fruits although it contains a large amount of fat. Another reason is that people are too busy at work so they don’t have much time to do physical activity. This can weaken their bodies as well as gain more weight. However, some measures can be taken by governments to tackle these problems effectively. Firstly, the cost of fast food should be increased together with decreasing the cost of vegetables and fruits. Because the price is more reasonable, more and more people would buy and consume them. As a result, their meal will be healthier and they will not gain weight anymore. Secondly, local governments should encourage residents to do more physical activities by organizing many sports events with rewards for winners. Since many people will participate to compete for the prize, public health would be improved considerably. In conclusion, the increase in the number of overweight people and the reduction of health conditions can be caused by many factors and this should be solved properly to change this negative situation.