Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that railways should have priority for spending over roads. While I accept that railways need to be invested more, I believe that spending on roads also has a number of advantages. On the one hand, there are some reasons why the authorities should allocate money to railways. The first reason is that this can reduce the traffic congestion considerably. To be more specific, since improving the railway system would encourage more and more people to commute to work by train, the number of vehicles travelling on roads can be declined significantly. Another reason is that carbon dioxide emissions from trains are extremely lower than from cars and buses. Thus, travelling by this means of transportation can indeed reduce many environmental problems such as global warming or air pollution. On the other hand, investing in roads can also be a better choice for several reasons. Firstly, the road is the most common mode of transportation as people use it every day for many purposes – commuting, for instance. As a result, more people will be benefited when developing the road sector rather than the railway sector. Furthermore, many traffic accidents caused when travelling on roads are due to their poor conditions. Therefore, the governments should have responsibility for repairing these roads to increase their citizens’ safety. In conclusion, while it is certainly true that the railways should be chosen as a preference for spending, I think that funding the roads can also bring many positive effects that are undeniable.