A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this difference cause? How might these problems be reduced?

It is not uncommon to see urbanized regions receive more considerable advantages in the aspect of the improvement of living standards than their rural counterparts. In this essay, I intend to delve into the underlying reasons for such a phenomenon and the measurements that can be adopted to balance the issue. Firstly, rising living conditions that are more likely to take place in city centres rather than the whole nation may lead to social economic inequality. A dramatic growth in living standards comes with a wide range of improvements in people's lives that citizens from the countryside may not have access to. For example, increasing living condition means the accessibility of quality education, more employment opportunities, recreational facilities and most importantly, a growing economy. All of these may pose a strain on the overall balance development of a nation if residents from disadvantageous socio-economic backgrounds such as remote villages, do not have the opportunity to comprehend and experience the urbanized lifestyles. Consequently, an economic disparity may arise from the fact that underprivileged citizens continue to be excluded from a prosperous community. Secondly, better living conditions may put huge pressure on housing and infrastructures in cities as more newcomers may be attracted to flock to the city centre to experience the lifestyle. Individuals from less advantageous economic backgrounds may come to the metropolis in search of career opportunities, advanced education as well as quality healthcare. For instance, the influx of village workers may fuel the demand for accommodation, driving up rent and property prices. As the population grows exponentially, educational institutions and hospitals may fail to keep pace with the demand and eventually be unable to provide quality services to the public. Therefore, the attraction of new arrivals aiming for high living standards may result in serious problems involving overused facilities and poor services. Several possible solutions can be taken to address such an issue. Government actions are indispensable in enhancing the current situation. For example, governments or wealthy organisations can lend a hand by allocating funds for the construction of infrastructures and the availability of academic attainments to reduce regional discrepancy by ensuring fair and equal access to basic services. Moreover, the government can also create more job positions in rural areas to retain a large population of workers from flocking to the city looking for a career. If people can find jobs in their native place they may not choose to move to other places and when they continue to live in their villages, facilities will start becoming available there as well. As a result, government actions are crucial in balancing the advancement of suburban and modernized regions. In a nutshell, a rising living standard that only occurs in cities may lead to overpopulation and regional disparity. It is vitally important for authorities to take certain actions to strike a fine balance in the development of urban and rural areas.