In some countries young people emerge to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.  Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is true that more nations these days encourage their youngsters to travel or take a job before entering university. While there are some merits to it, there will also be several drawbacks to taking this action. There are various benefits to having a job or travelling before university. In the first place, people who used to work before their professional time will have more exposure to real cases in the office and more resistance to hard tasks in their daily routines. For instance, when their boss needs the data at a very strict time, they need to provide it in a very strict time but with a good result. Therefore, they will understand how to organize their time well and use their ability to the fullest. Furthermore, if someone chooses to spend some time outside their country, they will gain more experience, especially in other languages. They will meet numerous people from different nationalities and be able to learn more foreign languages to enhance their knowledge. As a result, they will understand more than one language and boost their self-esteem in the long run. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks that people need to notice. Firstly, when someone has been working for a certain time before starting their education, they will feel more financially independent than others in their age, which makes them want to continue their career to fulfil their necessity. Consequently, they have to prioritize their current jobs rather than continue studying at university. In addition, some who have already travelled for a long time will have a long-distance relationship with their family and relatives, which can cause homesickness for every individual. Thus, they often feel sad and miserable in particular moments. In conclusion, I believe that having more experience due to working or travelling before continuing to university can lead to good and bad things in the future. People can have their own money and gain more value when meeting new people, especially in languages, but they also can end up not continuing their studies and miss their home even more. Given this situation, it is recommended that people should weigh all the positive and negative sides before taking any action in the future.