Some people think governments should spend money in looking for life on other planets, while others think that it is a waste of money as there are many unsolved problems on earth. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In a bid to search for aliens living on the outside of the earth, some superpowers spend vast amounts of public funds on looking for creatures on other plants, imagining that they can gain benefits from them. Even were it true, we still may face potential risks brought by extraterrestrial civilizations. Therefore, I am in favour of the opinion that we should give top priority to addressing difficulties and challenges at hand, rather than something that seems impossible in the near future. Driven by the instinct of curiosity and greed, human beings are eager to look for the New World, which usually means wealth and opportunities. As Europeans made a fortune on the American continent centuries ago, governments worldwide want to gain an edge in outer space, thus learning advanced technologies or obtaining revenues from people on other planets. For instance, some countries are making an effort to establish bases on the Moon and Mars in future. However, European new settlers had brought not only invasions on lands but serious diseases that killed tens of millions of Native American Indians. On the other hand, tens of millions of people worldwide suffer from the negative impact of tobacco, cocaine and opium that come from South America. Looking back the human history, we cannot assure that aliens from another planet would be kind and peaceful or they will not bring any lethal diseases. Therefore, we must make sure that it is safe for us if launch any program in terms of searching for extraterrestrials. Conversely, there are a great many tricky issues on earth deserving financial aid. Governments should put more money into reducing greenhouse gas emissions, saving the world from overly carbon footprints. If we do not make the earth sustainable and fix environmental problems as soon as possible, human civilization may be destroyed by disasters from human activities. Furthermore, countries should also attach importance to poverty and health care, where millions of innocent people are in need of help. It is wise to spend public funds on those areas, thereby maintaining social stability. In conclusion, investing in exploring outer space is neither helpful to tackle the immediate problems that we face, nor will surely produce a good result without any danger or conflict, although it may be beneficial to scientific discoveries and the future of the world. Hence, it is better to make good use of the money to solve problems that are solvable but still unsolved.