Topic 10. In some countries older people are being encouraged to work longer and not to retire. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working beyond retirement age.

Globally, the average age at which people cease to work is around sixty-three. Despite this, many humans are now being motivated to work beyond the age of retirement. The following essay will explore the possible benefits and drawbacks of extending one’s work life. Undoubtedly,there are numerous advantages that motivate the elderly to continue working. This includes the ability to afford one’s living expenses more comfortably, and sustain a better quality of life. This is clearly superior to depending on a pension scheme or long-term savings to survive the cost of living. Furthermore, an elder person may find that having a job provides a sense of fulfilment and satisfaction. Another benefit is the active movement a job provides could help keep one healthy and fit. For instance, 50% of the people who work in agriculture, specifically in rice fields, in Japan are over the age of seventy, it is no coincidence that the life expectancy in Japan is much higher than in the rest of the world. Clearly, humans who are occupied with tasks are, more often than not, healthier and happier. However, there are possible disadvantages to working well beyond the average expected years. The older a human is, the more time they need to rest, as it is vital to recovery and rehabilitation. After investing so many years of one’s life into a career, they deserve time to themselves to unwind and enjoy their leisure activities. Unfortunately, if they are still occupied with a job, they may never get the time to enjoy themselves and do what they love. For example, a global travel and tourism journal published statistics on the ages of frequent travellers. They revealed that almost half of the people who often fly across the globe are retirees. Unquestionably, taking the time to pursue passions could lead to a higher sense of contentment. To conclude, there are certain benefits that could motivate an individual to continue their career, such as acquiring a sense of fulfilment and maintaining health. Nevertheless, it could also result in more exhaustion and fatigue.