Some people tell that to reduce traffic and pollution, government should increase the tax on the petrol (gasoline). Would there is more benefits than the drawback?

With the advent of industrialization and globalization, there has been a humongous increase in the number of automobiles, which ultimately has led to higher traffic levels and subsequently polluting the environment. A majority of the individuals argue that the state should intervene by hiking the tax on gasoline, because that would discourage car usage, which would be beneficial to the society. But this would be a short-term measure rather than long-term, this essay elaborates further on that note. On the one hand, it is apparent that hiked prices would propel reduced usage of petrol, but there are certainly a huge number of benefits. Firstly, it would encourage individuals to take public transport, which would be of immense benefit to society as a whole. Secondly, it might encourage to go out to local or short-distance, locations either on foot or by cycle, that in turn would promote, physical activity increasing physical well-being. To quote an instance, a city in Europe has been providing free train ride tickets to individuals who do 50 squats. On the other hand, hiking the price of fossil fuels has its own drawbacks as well. It would potentially create a black market, that in turn would inflate the prices and indirectly the cost of all other goods would rise, which is hurtful to the economy. To cite an example, In India, cooking gas cylinders are sold in the black market with higher costs. In spite of the price increase, the government should spend a portion of the budget to promote alternative sources of energy such as renewables - biomass, solar, wind etc., as a long-term solution. To conclude, though there are benefits in raising the prices of petrol, which potentially could bring in a positive trend, that would be short-lived. The government should look into long-termterm solutions of renewable energy which would curb petrol usage.