Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is very clear that one of the biggest problems nowadays is animal extinction. This essay is going to analyze some possible causes and suggest some solutions for them. The major threat to animal survival is without a doubt, human activity. A big part of this guilt is due to animal poaching like tigers and rhinos, which are hunted for sport in order to sell on the black market. Once more, just like it happens in zoos, humans are putting profits over lives. Some species of fish are also being affected by overfishing. In addition, what is also often seen is the loss of natural habitats. This is happening more and more because of population growth. In order to sustain this growth many areas are being deforested to make space for more agriculture. Moreover, as the cities are getting expanded this also results in a reduction of animal habitats because more buildings are needed to accommodate people. Furthermore, one more negative impact is climate change. This can have a dramatic income in some species. For example, the polar bear is being threatened because of glaciers melting. Despite all the problems some measures could be taken. For instance, Governments should have stricter punishments for animal hunters., Also larger protected areas should be created where human activity could be controlled or reduced. In conclusion, humans have a very negative impact on animal numbers. We need to take responsibility for our acts and protect animals that are being killed directly and indirectly by humans