Walking is known to be beneficial for human health, and yet fewer and fewer people walk these days. What are the causes and solutions?

Physical activity, such as walking is recognized to be advantageous for well-being, but the number of individuals who do it regularly is decreasing day by day. This is owing to the access to owning personal transportation namely cars and lack of motivation in pursuing a healthier lifestyle. There are a number of solutions that should be implemented to deal with this issue. Firstly, the reason why people tend to walk less is due to owning personal transportation whilst running some errands. In other words, utilizing the road is a safer method for the citizens to complete daily tasks than walking through pedestrian paths along the streets. Secondly, lack of motivation in pursuing a healthier lifestyle is also an account of fewer people walking until now. People these days do not have the motivation to do outdoor activities because they have other important things to care about. As a result, they neglect the importance of this activity. There are two effective solutions to this conundrum. One way to tackle this is to ensure that the government takes responsibility when it comes to the citizens’ safety since they have the power to do so. For example, constructing a cross-over bridge on certain roads would be helpful for society to do their daily task. By doing this, it will help as an alternative for the consumers to run errands without worrying about unwanted accidents. Another method of dealing with a lack of motivation in pursuing a healthier lifestyle is to have a handful of organizations held by the community to restore the lost spirit. This solution would hopefully prevent them from lacking motivation because their minds are taken care of from time to time. In conclusion, having the government meddle in and also organizing motivational events are effective in dealing with this dilemma. If it is implemented, this surely results in a healthier community in the future.