Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Smartphones are the most used electronic device by everyone regardless of their age in the modern day. It has become the most sophisticated device due to the advancement of the technology. However, it is important to pay attention to how much time young children spend on smartphones daily. While there are advantages to using a mobile phone, I think this is a negative development and this essay will elaborate on my notion further. Firstly, the overuse of smartphones has a significant impact on children ’s health. It can affect cognitive development and creativity which can alter their learning abilities. Children will tend to use smartphones for every task, which will reduce their decision-making abilities, critical thinking, and learning capabilities. It can be a negative impact on their lives later when they must make decisions that will affect their lives. Moreover, spending long hours on mobile phones means less physical activity for kids. This can lead to one of the major health problems in the world today, childhood obesity. Children would tend to spend time sitting on a chair instead of engaging in physical activities, making them prone to several chronic diseases such as diabetes, hypertension, and heart problems in their adult lives. Secondly, using a mobile phone for everything can affect their social skills such as communication, social interaction, and empathy. Instead of talking to a real person, kids interact with people they meet through their phone which does not improve their communication skills. And as a result, they lack social interaction and empathy affecting their social lives later on their lives. Furthermore, children will miss out on valuable family time which would make family members apart. Kids will grow apart from their siblings and lack emotional availability. To conclude my essay, I reiterate that spending hours on their smartphones can have a negative impact on children ’s lives. Although there are some benefits of smartphones, they should be used with a limit and a control otherwise, it can lead to a number of health problems and reduce in social skills which can be crucial for a child’s development as discussed above.