In modern society, ambition is more and more important. How important is ambition for being successful in life? Is it positive or negative?

In such an ever-changing technological world, ambition is considered a significant and indispensable quality for many to attain achievements in life. I agree to a large extent that this is a positive trend. In this essay, I intend to delve into the importance of being ambitious to individuals and discuss my perspective. Firstly, it is widely known that ambition is an indispensable factor for people who want to succeed. Being ambitious means an individual is aiming for something to accomplish, such as enrolling in a university and winning a job offer, which may yield greater potential if people are motivated by an ambitious personality. For example, ambition can motivate learners and workers to work harder towards their goals and sacrifice whatever is necessary in order to reach their targets regardless of whatever is put in front of them. In work settings, ambitious employees hold more potential to pursue a higher level of employment ability in their professional lives when they encounter critical situations that they need to address, such as the temptation to make false claims about the products or services of their companies in order to strike a deal with clients. Normal employees may fail do to so because they may feel it is not ethically right. As such, the motivation comes from being ambitious to make a difference in their lives facilitating people to devote themselves entirely to the job. From my perspective, being ambitious affects the way to success both advantageously and negatively. On the one side, ambition acts as a catalyst that pushes people over their limits, thus, fulfilling their dreams. It is a fact that a great number of successful achievers are likely to be ambitious. For instance, Jim Carrey, who used to be homeless and unemployed, prevailed over huge obstacles to become one of the best comedians of the era. On the other hand, being over-ambitious may have its drawbacks on personal development and mentality. Some of them may perceive every single competition as a battle to try to outweigh their counterparts, eventually healthy competitions are transformed into toxic ones that pose a strain on the development of their social networks and personalities. For example, some may perform destructive activities or behaviours to become the top scholar, without considering the dire consequences left on others. They may also engage in criminal events to do whatever it is worth to succeed. Therefore, being too ambitious may lead to glorious moments in one's life, however, it may also result in unhealthy competition among people. In a nutshell, I agree to a large extent that it is advantageous to be ambitious in this competitive world as it acts as a great motivator to encourage people to fight for a bright future, although an unhealthy competitive environment may likely occur when one is over-ambitious.