Is the freedom of speech vital in a free society? agree or disagree

Firstly it is very important to know what is the freedom of speech means. Freedom of speech is expression our ideas and thoughts in community even with mass media. Some people say that freedom of speech is not too important in society, because it is very hard to control it. Others say that it is vital for society so that ideas do not go unnoticed. I consider myself to the second types of people, so now I want to explain why does freedom of speech important in our life. Firstly, it is well to known that freedom of speech gave to society extra rights. People can say their own thoughts without any worry for their lifes. For example North Korea, people live in this country with no choice. They should think, speak and do the way states wants it. The freedom of speech contributes to the consolidating trust between people and respect for the opinions of others. Take for example me and my mother. I can say anything to my mother and she is not critic me, because she respects my opinion and it strengthens our trust in each other. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account in our final analysis we can say that freedom of speech very vital in free society. But it is very important to understand that every plus has its minus, so this question may remain unanswered for many people. But for me this question is closed.