Art classes, like painting and drawing, are not as important as other subjects, so some people think that it should not be a compulsory subject at high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I mostly agree that art classes such as drawing and painting are not as important and at such, they should not be made compulsory in high schools because when made compulsory, they do more harm than good to students who do not particularly enjoy them. While there are many students who enjoy taking art classes such as painting and drawing because it stimulates their interests, there is a vast amount of students who do not enjoy, nor need art classes for their intended careers. For senior years students who do not enjoy arts, it can be boring and uninspiring. Making art classes compulsory for these students only makes them develop a negative attitude towards learning in schools. It has been proven in many research and studies that the best way to maintain high student engagement in classes and in school in general, students must enjoy their classes and feel like they need them for their future careers. By the time most students get to High school, they are mostly aware of what their interests and dislikes are, by not making Art classes mandatory, students can spend more time on subjects that matter more to them and their future careers. For example, a high school student who intends to be a pilot can spend more time practising and learning about important subjects like mathematics rather than being required to attend art classes instead. To conclude, I strongly agree that Art classes are not as important to every high school student, and making them compulsory only takes away time that could be used to teach other subjects that are more important and enjoyable to students.