Topic: Some people say it’s a waste of time to plan for future. It’s more important to focus on present. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe it is important to live in the present and give no heed or importance to the future. I do not agree with this view because it is the thought of future prospects that gives an individual the growth that is required in life through motivation and introspection. It is also crucial to live a purposeful life with minimal obstacles to deal with. To begin with, what is life without the hope of a better tomorrow? This is where planning for the future comes in. When an individual plans for the future, a goal or dream to achieve they critically evaluate themselves making their shortcomings s apparent which leads to self-rectification and a first step towards becoming a better person and living a better life is taken. On the contrary, the one who has tunnel vision fixated on the present will not be able to see beyond current circumstances as they have nothing to achieve and hence no growth is achieved. The other important benefit of holding a futuristic vision is that one develops a proactive approach to life. Also, it makes the present more meaningful by giving it a purpose in the form of a dream or goal. For instance, someone who has plans to study at a prestigious university in future for their master's would work hard accordingly in the present to tick off the requirements that will be needed of them in future. This inculcates the importance of timely hard work in life and challenges one to step out of their comfort zone which would be difficult to achieve if one is just engaged in the present To conclude, it can be seen that the qualities that one develops when one plans for the future are of great importance. From critical self-assessment to timely hard work and dedication the benefits one can reap are enormous and hence this practice should be encouraged.