Some students take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The concept of success is something fluid that keeps changing over (time) the years. Recently, it is not uncommon to see recent high-school graduates taking a sabbatical year to travel or build some work experience, but it is unclear if this precious year is a period that the students should be exploring new opportunities or focusing on the next steps of their education. For the previous generations, as the concept of success was directly linked to a career, having a higher diploma was a life-changing opportunity; consequentially, it was common to rush studies and (try to) ascend in the business world as soon as possible. By contrast, many people from the newer generations do not correlate having a successful career with being happy; for this reason, it is not uncommon to see people prioritizing other aspects of their life instead of just studying or working. Therefore, having a sabbatical period to explore new horizons is increasing in demand. In addition to searching for happiness outside of the academic or work environment, having a gap year can be an enriching experience that contributes to the graduate’s career in the future. Taking a gap year for travelling is a good way of being exposed to new languages, cultures and building a sense of global awareness. Being exposed to these experiences can help with personal growth and make people more mature before starting the important period (in their lives) of the university and a career. In conclusion, there are clear reasons to opt for a gap year period after finishing high school, as this experience can contribute not just to their career, but also enrich them as a person, and for the younger generation, this is extremely important.