Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugar is an essential ingredient in almost every manufactured food that we can find in a grocery store. High sugar levels in food and drinks are one of the major risk factors that contribute to many chronic health problems. Because of this, there is an argument put forward that the prices of sugary products must be increased to encourage people to consume less sugar. While this statement has some validity to an extent, I disagree with this opinion. The following essay will elaborate further on my disagreement. Firstly, if food and drink prices are increased, people will not be able to afford any manufactured products. This includes common food items such as bread, pasta, and sauces which are the essential staple food of people in the middle class and the poor. If these products become expensive people will be left with nothing to eat. This would increase malnutrition, and nutrition deficiency which can lead to national health problems. Especially, with children, they might face growth developmental issues, brain development issues, and learning disabilities. In addition to this, manufacturers would be left with a huge number of excess products as people cannot afford to buy their items. As a result, it could affect the economy as well. Therefore, it is not completely logical to increase the prices of every manufactured food product. On the contrary, people can be encouraged to buy healthier foods such as reduced sugar products. Also, producers could make less sugar food and drinks. This could prompt people to buy less sugar and healthier food. It could also reduce the risk of chronic health problems in the future. To promote this manufacturing companies and the government could lead campaigns to educate people on the benefits of consuming less sugar food. Furthermore, they can sell these products at an affordable price so everyone can buy healthy food. To conclude my essay, I reiterate that increasing the prices of food and drink products is not a logical solution to the problem of ill health conditions. Instead, producing less sugar food and drinks and encouraging people to buy them would be more practical.