Nowdays in many countries the proportion of older population is higher than that of younger people. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of elderly rather than the youngsters. In my view, this phenomenon should be perceived as a negative for two reasons. The first reason why the imbalanced population of older people and younger people has a negative effect is the decrease in the economic rate. Having a large number of older people will increase the number of retirements as a company will be full of older workers. Once they retire it will be hard to find people to continue their jobs as the number of younger people imbalance. There will be vacant positions in manufacturers. However, the expense of the country could not be fulfilled as the number of workers decreased. It will make the youngsters pay more for tax in a country. For instance, youngsters can not fulfil their needs due to expensive taxes on products. As a result, the economic rate will fall gradually. The next reason is the slowing the technological progress. The elderly tend to use old methods and old machines in doing their jobs. Many older people do not have sufficient knowledge of operating new technology such as gadgets, and printers. It will affect the technology progress. The limited number of youngsters will make prevention of innovations as only a few people understand the technology and use it for their daily activities. Consequently, the citizens will be outdated. To sum up, having more elderly than younger people will cause some problems in society such as a decline in the economic rate and slowing technological progress. Having considered the disadvantages, I am firmly convinced that a higher number of older people than younger people is a negative phenomenon.