Nowadays, young people tend to rush into independence. Many of them leave home to study or work while still in their teens. Do you think it is positive or negative?

Among many social changes, one noticeable feature of them is that a growing number of teenagers are leaving their parents to stand on their feet. Regarding this tendency, this early independence is often believed to bring practical experiences to the youth who decide to live by themselves, but in my opinion, such a hasty decision can cause more side effects to them. At first, those independent kids may have to go through harsh and stark reality without any protection. Due largely to their immaturity and lack of experience in real life, they are more likely to get exposed to varying social temptations and threats, but the problem is that there is no proper protection for them. Then, the most likely end result is that they will fall into a victim to the lurking dangers of society. More precisely, they could probably become easy targets for a variety of social crimes. While having part-time jobs, some irresponsible owners may attempt to abuse these innocent kids. Or the kids may feel no need to go to school anymore since they are busy sustaining their life. With these challenging situations against the kids, their loving families would be more anxious and concerned about much. Nevertheless, however, there is an opinion that leaving parents early could help the youth to develop problem-solving abilities. This is because when they live alone, they may have to deal with all circumstances by themselves. It is common for them to face small and big issues in their daily life, but they don’t have anyone who can help them immediately at home which means they may have to go through the situations by themselves. However, at the same time, they could make this time a chance to develop their problem-solving abilities. For instance, when kitchen tools are broken or electronic appliances don’t work, they may have to decide whether they fix them by themselves or bring a mechanic quickly. By doing this kind of process over and over again, teenagers definitely will be able to build practical abilities that will play an important role in the future. To sum up, although being independent early enables the youth to have practical skills in their daily lives, there are more disadvantages when children leave home early because of unpredictable challenging reality.