Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that private enterprise should be held responsible for conducting scientific research. While this may have minor benefits in the short term, I would argue that this is outweighed by enormous disadvantages. On the one hand, one advantage is that private businesses sometimes respond more rapidly to demand than local authorities. People who invest money in these companies are greedy to make the most of any business opportunity. Thus, huge amounts of money have always in available status for these corporations to carry out research which might maximise profits. For example, the outbreak of an epidemic such as coronavirus, presents a spectacular chance for the pharmaceutical industry. In the search for a cure, the first company developed a vaccine standing to make a vast fortune, whether governments buy the vaccine or people have to purchase it themselves. On the other hand, there are significant benefits if governments directly lead to the conduct of scientific research for the well-being of their citizens. Firstly, they must provide funding for university departments to implement research according to public needs. Advances in technology and knowledge to achieve sustainable development would be used to benefit people, not investors. Thus, research into areas like preventive medicine or alleviating environmental problems, despite of unprofitable, is essential. Secondly, because competition among companies is eliminated, the sharing of knowledge through international cooperation in the scientific community becomes the norm. In conclusion, although there is one benefit when private companies control scientific research, governments bring the results more effective in managing this section of research.