Sports programmes are very popular on television nowadays. Some people argue that those programmes are the reasons for poor health of many young people as the prefer to watch sports rather than partake in them. Do you agree or disagree with this view ?

It is sometimes argued that watching sports programmes will result in less physical activity and health issues in the young generation. While watching long hours of TV shows is considered to be a possible threat, I do not agree with the idea that watching sport shows will negatively affect young people's lives. Health organization have always been worried about long hours of watching TV and problems which come with it. Firstly, they argue that due to the excitement which sport may have, people tend to spend more time watching these shows or matches. For instance, A football game alongside analysis shows lasts more than three hours. Secondly, people tend to eat and drink unhealthily during programmes and they are not aware of how many calories they get by eating too many snacks and drinks. Finally, spending long hours in front of a TV can be a dangerous habit that leads the youth towards laziness and results in a sedentary lifestyle with no physical activity. On the other hand, watching sports programmes is considered to motivate young folk to get active. That is, a wide range of people who are into sports are tempted to follow their dreams of becoming even pros in their desired field of sport. Different surveys have shown that watching sport on TV sparked the motivation of people who are playing and working out regularly. For instance, I as a gymaholic started lifting weights and going to the gym after watching bodybuilding competitions and I am still eagerly following those shows. In conclusion, watching different programmes including sports on TV may exacerbate the prevalent sedentary lifestyle in some cases, but overally the followers of sports shows are motivated to stay active by watching those shows.