In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

With the recent breakthroughs in medicine, the longevity of a human life has enormously extended as compared to the past. This change has impacted societies in different ways. Today, many families have more than three generations living at the same time. In my opinion, while an ageing population brings challenges to the economy, the value that it holds for the community far surpasses the negative sides. On the one hand, elderly people put a strain on a country’s economy. Individuals who have retired from their work and receive pension from the government are not contributing to the development of the economy. To provide them with necessary resources such as health care, food, and accomodation, the government must collect additional money from other taxpayers. Moreover, less funds are allocated to education and other spheres, negatively impacting a country’s prosperity. For example, in Italy, the tax rates are higher than 50% because a vast share of government budget is targeted on the programs for supporting elderly people. For these reasons, an ageing population prevents economic growth. On the other hand, old people are an essential part of a vibrant society. People who have a variety of experiences can share their expertise and skills with younger generations. Children must be taught to appreciate art and cultural values. For instance, a number of retired professional musicicans work at music schools where they transfer their deep understanding and excitement to students. If it was not for them, there would not be so many young people interested in art. As a result, elderly people contribute positively to a society. In conclusion, though people may vary in their opinions, I firmly believe that ageing population is a positive trend for a country.