Some people say that advertising is extremely sucessful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertising can potentially have a huge impact on minds of the people to affect their buying choices. Persuasion at its core is the fundamental strategy of marketing and the medium used can have a huge impact on it and there are some who have the contrary views. In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and give my opinion. Firstly, nowadays the digital era is at its peak and it opens the door for many companies to have their footing for their own growth in that space. For example, large amounts of funds are allocated by major companies like Nestle, Brittania etc. to build their image using such mediums which can potentially drive consumerism. It has been shown by various reports that due to the growth of various channels in current times, the profit margins have also risen in major organizations. All this points to the fact on the influence that a particular entity can have on the population. On the other side, some are of the view that after a particular period of time, it loses its grip and people become immune to it due to repeated exposure. For example, in spite of spending huge amounts, the sales of goods flatten instead of continuously rising after a particular duration and this holds true for many like Samsung and Apple. It can be due to the customers getting their hands on the products and once they experience it then they are sure of the stuff and their critical thinking kicks in. So overall, there is a point of diminishing return or stagnation post a particular point. In conclusion, the psychology of the beings can be tapped in various ways and corporations are experimenting with various paths to do it. The extent of brainwashing on the crowd is highly subjective and many factors can be at play in it to who reacts in which way. Ending it, I personally think that the giants are winning presently as data points towards it so we are at their grips.