Some people believe that humans should be able to use animals for their own benefit, while others argue that the rights of animals should be protected. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether to use another species to benefit humans or to protect them. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and give my own opinion on the latter. On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that humans should be able to use animals in order to benefit themselves. The main reason for believing this is that animals bring them a lot of either material or money. For example, tiger feathers will give them material to make clothes which are very expensive. Thus, they want to make full use of this kind of resource. A second standpoint is that humans tend to think that they are the owner of the earth hence they can use all the creatures or resources on this planet to benefit them. On the other hand, it is also possible to make an opposing case. It is often argued that in fact, we should protect the animals. People often have this opinion because all the creatures are important for the ecosystem. For instance, all species have a special connection with others; therefore, if some species are extinct, it will lead to the disappearance of others because of a lack of food resources. Furthermore, another reason is that all the creatures have their own lives so they should be protected instead of being hunted by humans. All things considered, in my opinion, both arguments have their merits. From my standpoint, I tend to believe that the best course of action would be to attempt to achieve a balance between hunting animals and protecting them.