Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A small number of people believe that news is irrelevant to our lives and we should not spend time consuming this informationinformation. This essay disagrees with this point of view. On the one hand, most of ordinary people do not connect directly with the news. The main reason is, the information on the news is often events that affect many people for example a natural disaster occurs in a certain area or a flight accident, and when people do not directly experience these kinds of events, the information would be irrelevant to them. Furthermore, newspapers or news programs do not deliver information on a specific fields such as the price of some household goods today or an exact payment of a certain job and since this is what the major people usually care about in their daily life, news become less attractive for them. On the other hand, I think this viewpoint has two major problems. First of all, news helps people know how certain things affect our lives. Although it does not give exact data, news provides a pattern for a field and this pattern is often relevant and can be applied to the majority of people for instance, information about coronavirus incidence in the certain area helps people improve their prevention of the disease. Second, consuming news inculcate people ’s knowledge in society, which has become increasingly important in modern society. Because of globalization, difficulties or opportunities are no longer limited to a specific country or aspect but rather all connected together. Therefore, the more social knowledge one has, the better chance he or she gains in life. In conclusion, while news is often covered a wide range of information for a normal person, in my opinion, it can not be said that spending time on the news is useless.