Some employers involve their employees in their decision-making process. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a common practice nowadays that employees are involved in making decisions related to their work. While there are certain drawbacks related to this trend such as discriminations between colleagues and waste of resources, I believe that this practice will actually brings more advantages in the form of higher job satisfaction, increase in productivity and speed up work processes. First of all, by giving employee some authority to make decision, it will naturally leads to faster pace in carrying out work processes, because lesser time would be required in order to get an approval from the manager. For instance, a printing company could save plenty of time if the co-workers could decide whether an advertisement design is good enough to be printed rather than waiting for their manager which is not available. This will in turn improve the productivity which will no doubt translate into higher profit for the company. In addition, there will be an increase in the level of job satisfaction among the workers. On the other hand, some of the disadvantages that could happen if employees are allowed to make decision include discrimination between the colleagues, because there will be occasions whereby the decisions made will consistently benefit only some group of workers. This might leads to increase in tension at workplace, and if left unsettled, could potentially cause loss of productivity or even loss of profit for the company. To sum up, I believe that decision making authority of the employee will bring much higher benefits in the form of speeding up productivity and higher job satisfaction, which will undoubtedly outweigh the disadvantages such as unequal treatment and disharmony at work place.