Small shops in towns and villages are closing and replaced by big stores. Explain your opinion. Do you think it is good or bad?

Commercialization has grown rapidly in the modern era. As a result of this, local outlets in the suburbs are being substituted by supermarkets. This trend offers both positives and negatives, which we will explore in the following paragraphs. There are myriad reasons why hypermarkets are superior. First and foremost, shopping at them is fast and convenient. To elaborate, these retail stores cater for everything that a shopper needs in a single place. Thus, consumers do not need to visit a number of shops. In addition, these premium outlets also provide add-on services such as doorstep delivery which saves customers valuable time. Furthermore, they usually have tied up with retail companies. As a result of these relations, they are able to sell their products at discounted prices. For example, Big Bazar run by Reliance Industry offers a 20 per cent flat discount on all products of other sister companies. However, the establishment of these businesses in rural areas is posing a serious threat to the livelihood of local businessmen. Usually, remote dwellers are the sole breadwinners for their families and they rely on these small shops for their earnings. Thus, this development results in dwindling opportunities for them. Another reason is the lack of trust between local buyers and high-end stores. Villagers often take credit from local shopkeepers and pay it later at their convenience. But with this new system, they should have their personal savings which is very challenging for them. In conclusion, these large shops cater to elite shopping experiences at the cost of lessening business opportunities and trust for the local communities.