The topic of renewable energy is widely discussed these days. What are the main reasons behind the increasing use of renewable energy sources, and is this trend a positive or negative development for the environment?

Green energy is a trending topic recently due to heightened concerns around global warming and the depletion of traditional energy sources, such as fuel and coal. In my opinion, the movement has a great impact on the environment. Firstly, news has repeatedly highlighted the increase in temperature and season anomaly around the world which are both caused by global warming. The cause of global warming essentially is carbon emissions which blanket the earth and trap the sun's heat. Thus, environmental leaders have been working together to promote renewable energy to reduce the circulation of heat, which is made of carbons mostly originating from burning fossil fuels or coals. Another reason for the popularity of renewable energy is the scarcity of the conventional energy source. Promoting renewable energy not only ensures sustainability but also promotes efficiency so that availability of conventional energy can be extended for engines that cannot be fueled by renewable energy. Take Indonesia for example, its renewable energy has demonstrated efficiency and sustainability as the country has started powering its highway lamps with solar panels which are auto-off during the day while the panel is absorbing and storing the sunlight during the day to light the street after sunset. Finally, green energy has a lot of benefits not only for the environment but also for future generations. Fewer carbon residuals are being generated by renewable energy which alleviates global warming risk. The commonly known renewable energy sources such as sun, wind, and water which are unlimited natural resources and widely available, might replace the sole dependency on fuels. In summary, renewable energy plays an important role in the environment in terms of delaying global warming and creating energy sustainability. If we had initiated the use of renewable energy earlier, the Earth would have not experienced the harmful effects of climate change.