In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In our contemporary world, it is witnessed that people have a great tendency to use their phones rather than cash when they want to purchase something. This phenomenon has its own merits and drawbacks, which are going to be discussed in the following paragraphs. Although using cash seems to be more common and easier than any other method, it has some disadvantages as well. First, if you do not have enough of it, you may not afford an item whose price is higher than the amount of payment in your pocket. Second, at the time of purchasing, you have to pay the exact amount of money and change, and if you do not have change, you need to give the seller an extra amount of payment sometimes. Third, a paper-based money should always be kept in a wallet to preserve its neat and tidy shape, because if your cash is wrinkled and dirty, no seller will accept it from you. For instance, assume that you want to buy a dish which costs 40.52 dollars, and you have a wrinkled and dirty 50-dollar bill in your pocket. In this situation, not only do you have to pay more as you do not have change, but also it is highly possible that the shopkeeper will not accept to take the payment. Therefore, using paper currency has a number of difficulties. On the other hand, using a cellphone to buy a commodity provides you with applicable options and merits. Firstly, there is no need for a paper-based currency; you can buy anything if your mobile is with you. Moreover, you can purchase multiple items with different currencies simultaneously. For instance, if an Iranian passenger travels abroad, he or she can pay for a commodity with different currencies, like the Euro, the Dollar, or even cryptocurrency. In addition, there is no need to refer to an exchange office in case of travelling abroad, since your bank account, which is available in your cellphone app, can automatically exchange your money to any currency you want, at the time of purchasing an object. However, you will lose your purchasing power if your phone is broken or missed. But, in comparison with using paper bills, mobile bank apps are more applicable. To sum up, regarding the benefits of using mobile apps for purchasing over utilising paper bills, I personally reckon that the merits of this development outweigh its demerits, given the facts that were discussed in the above paragraphs.