For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’ How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view

As an introduction, most people irrespective of their age and gender, enjoy some good music in their everyday life. Interest in this kind of activity during childhood is vital for a healthy mind and body. Therefore, I strongly agree that it is very important for school children to engage in musical activities as much as they pay attention to their studies. Firstly, kids nowadays spend busy lives with their school work and tuition, which leads to an increased rate of depression among students. Hence playing a musical instrument whenever they are free is a very important factor for the relaxation of the mind. Secondly, music enhances the cognitive skills of youngsters thereby improving intelligence. As an example, some researchers found that playing musical instruments causes an increase in cerebral neuro-hormonal discharge, which ultimately leads to better brain performance. In addition, a calm mind during childhood is beneficial in developing a good kind-hearted adult. So, these extracurricular activities are important in calming vulnerable students and eventually reducing anger and temper in them. Moreover, I believe that these types of things can cause increase confidence and self-esteem among the young generation. For instance, the pupils who play music are more forward than others in their performances and they do it with a certain self-confidence. In conclusion, learning music during school years has more benefits in childhood as well as in adulthood. Therefore I believe that all kids should learn to play with at least one piece of equipment to lead a better life not only during the learning period but also in the future.