For some people shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development? Give your opinion and examples from your experience.

Shopping is generally thought of in terms of fulfilling needs. Shopping is seen first as a function and secondarily as something that serves emotional and social needs. As incomes have grown, choices have exploded and free time has increased, shopping has become entertainment as much as anything else. This can be seen as both – a positive as well as a negative development. In the following,paragraphs I intend to explore the pros and cons of shopping as an entertainment. On the positive side, shopping satisfies our needs. Everyone needs the basics of life such as items of food, clothing and shelter. Apart from that, needs vary from person to person. The things which were considered the luxuries of yesteryears have become the necessities of today. For example, the mobile phone has become a must-have for even the lower income group of people. Many businesses and jobs thrive on the connectivity provided by the mobile phone and the internet. Furthermore, shopping has given rise to the consumerist society of today. This has given employment to many. For instance, people are working in the manufacturing industries and in the retail sector also. Megastores and malls are also having a mushroom growth. What is more, psychologists claim that the best way to cope with stress or any kind of strong and negative emotion is to hit the shops and do plenty of shopping. It is called retail therapy and, according to many, it is guaranteed to boost spirits. On the negative side, excessive shopping makes us pile up things in the home which we don‘t even need. It also leads to a throw-away society which is detrimental to the environment. To do shopping, people need a lot of money and if this money does not come by fair means people resort to unethical means of getting it which leads to violence and crime in society. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, shopping is good as long as it is done for need, but when it is done for greed then it becomes a bane. So we should do shopping only according to our requirements and then it will be a pleasurable experience also.