Demand for gas and oil is increasing, so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is necessary. Do the advantages of damaging such areas outweigh the disadvantages?

Human beings are in constant demand for fossil fuels, which renders the need to look for more energy sources in unexplored areas inescapable. In my opinion, the disadvantage of deteriorating these places outweigh the advantages. In the first place, exploring sources of fossil fuels in other areas can bring forth a multitude of benefits. Primarily, the majority of mankind relies heavily on energy to survive. For instance, we require energy to commute, cook and perform an extensive list of other daily activities. Especially in countries that cannot promote alternative energy options yet, making sure fossil fuels are in supply is critical for these populations to maintain a normal life. Additionally, the energy sector is a significant economic pillar. For example, companies like Shell and PetroChina employ millions of people while paying massive amounts of tax. In the second place, the drawbacks of such an action are multifold. Firstly, extraction of the resource causes land degradation. The process of unearthing and processing destroys landscapes, forests, and wildlife habitats because plants and topsoil are removed from the mining area. A case in point is strip mining, during which enormous areas of land are scraped and blasted away to expose underground oil. Secondly, it jeopardizes the local water system. Oil spills and leaks during extraction can contaminate drinking water sources and put a myriad of threats to the entire freshwater ecosystems, let alone offshore oil operations. In conclusion, mining gas and oil maintains lives for the global population and provides job opportunities, but it also takes an enormous toll on our ecosystems. On balance, I believe the demerits offset its merits because the unearthing, drilling and burning of fossil fuels bring about climate change, but also lead to heart attacks, respiratory disorders and other life-threatening diseases.