The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Considering the great number of traffic accidents despite numerous rules issued by the governments, many people believe that intensifying the penalties is the utmost solution to secure the safety of their citizens on the roads. Although the idea is justifiable, I believe there are more methods to solve the problems. On the one hand, it is true that stringent laws for people can improve road safety and mitigate traffic incidents. The fact that one of the main reasons for one's deliberate neglect driving on the roads and more risks of traffic accidents is the loose punishments for simple cases of traffic violation. That is why they tend to underestimate the cost of their violation, thinking their action is trivial to cause any harm. And they are more likely to break the same rule again. Therefore, if the level of penalty can be raised higher to the point that drivers have to struggle to pay, they will pay stricter attention on the roads to avoid violating the codes. For example, in Vietnam, the minimum penalty for each time blowing the red light is around 200 000 VND for motorbike users and 4 million VND for car drivers. With this difference, motorbikers are prone to go against the regulations more frequently than car owners. However, the proposal is not optimal as stricter traffic codes may not work effectively for irresponsible drivers and should be combined with other measures to promote better driving habits. As there are always dwellers who are rebellious to break the rules no matter how strict they are, the authorities had better come up with other solutions for the problems. One suggestion is to encourage people to use public transportation to reduce the number of vehicles on the roads. Another approach is to launch frequent advertising campaigns regarding transportation posted on different platforms such as billboards, and social media apps to raise the commuters’ awareness of driving safely and abiding by the regulations. Hence, the combination of these methods can create more desired results than relying on only one. In conclusion, it is undeniable that more severe punishment for driving offences can improve road safety. However, there are still other effective methods that can be taken into consideration for governments to achieve safety targets.