Many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by most individuals that smartphones should be prohibited in public areas. While this idea will reduce distractions, however, I do not endorse this thought. In my opinion, we can restrict the use of such a gadget but cannot avoid it completely. This is because we are addicted to its use and it assists in navigation. Imagining life without a phone in hand is a dream these days. Mobile phones are of great help when we are travelling. The " Maps" application on the phone guides us through an unknown route and we feel safe by following the directions as directed by Google Maps. This is particularly safe when we are on a bus or a taxi. No one can fool us and come to even know if we are new to the area. Thus, carrying our smartphones while on the go is a must. For instance, when I went for my IELTS speaking test last Wednesday, I had no clue about the route. As soon as I sat in the Uber vehicle, I instantly switched on the Maps feature and could even share my ride with my spouse. This distinctive feature made me feel confident and I could ensure that the driver was safe. The use of these electronic gadgets is significant in such times. In addition, we are wired at all times and staying without it for even a few minutes is impossible. We have become so addicted to our smartphones that all day-to-day tasks are now carried out on this phone with a click. Carrying bulky wallets, documents and even ID cards is a thing of the past. We are habituated to not clinging to anything except our mobile phones. However, restricting the use of such gadgets should be emphasized due to the distraction that it leads to. The continuous beeping of phones in a library is a nuisance. It is a place where absolute silence is and should be observed. In conclusion, we are so glued to our mobile phones that it is difficult to stay without them due to the convenience of travel and the multitude of things we do on them, but we should curtail their use in public spaces such as libraries.