In many places large amounts of food are wasted. What might be the reasons of this problem? What can best be done to reduce food waste?

These days, famine has been striking impoverished countries in the third world, while a majority of people in wealthy nations have been wasting a significant amount of food every day. In my opinion, understanding the possible reasons behind this phenomenon is crucial as well as can lead us to implement solutions to reduce food waste. One of the important pieces of evidence, which has been making the food surplus, is the low cost of food manufacturing. Due to the revolutionary technological advancements, farmers, manufacturers, and retailers often give rise to overproduction of the demand, therefore, according to the law of supply and demand, it leads to a significant decrease in the prices of a number of products. As a result of this, consumers tend to purchase more food than they can consume which contributes to significant food waste at the household level. It is also noticeable that the lack of strict regulations to prevent such behaviour can be considered a major cause. There are differences in the wakefulness of wasteful consumption; however, in general, people have a limit to resisting any desires or consuming dietary sources without control unless they are compelled by strict policies. For instance, some countries witnessed a dramatic fall in leftovers after the government applied a policy which prohibits excessive food purchases beyond necessity. In my part of a view, raising awareness of discarding comestibles play a vital role. By using social media as well as education at school, it is possible to get the attention of the community regarding the hidden risk as well as the inspiration on how to cope with waste products. In conclusion, addressing the issue of food waste requires collective efforts from individuals, businesses, and governments. By educating consumer behaviour and implementing supportive policies, we can significantly reduce the leftovers and contribute to a more sustainable and equitable food system. It is crucial to innovate in our approach to tackle this global challenge and ensure a better future for both the planet and the people