Large companies use sports events to promote their products. Some people think it has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many corporations are sponsoring sporting events or teams as an efficient marketing tool. Some believe this trend exerts negative impacts on sports. I somewhat agree with this. In the first place, sponsorship leads to a win-win situation for both the event and the corporation. Primarily, companies can provide financial support to competitors that desperately need money. The costs of holding and publicizing a sports event can be exorbitant, and a high-profile international game, such as World Cup, expects billions of dollars. Therefore, the financial aid subsidized by sponsors is essential to cover the venues, equipment, catering and other costly expenditures. In addition, it is a lucrative business for companies, because sponsoring popular teams and competitions can gain immense visibility, develop positive brand associations, and cultivate customer loyalty of certain die-hard sports fans. In the second place, there are valid reasons to say endorsements damage the events and athletes with their business nature in certain ways. Firstly, the sponsor can manipulate or even exploit the athletes, teams and events to suit their interests. For example, when Nike invested $160 million in a five-year sponsorship of the Brazil national football team, the company was allowed to specify where, when and against whom the national team would play. Secondly, some corporations associate sports with negative images. The cases in point are the alcohol and tobacco companies whose media coverage promotes highly addictive products that deteriorate public health. In conclusion, sponsorship has mutual benefits for both parties but over-commercialization will also bring about unwanted manipulation for sports properties and reputation risks if associated with controversial products. On balance, I propose that sports properties should always select their sponsors with caution and never compromise their inherent virtue for revenue.