The practice of illegally hunting wild animals continues to cause concern in many countries, particularly developing countries. What are the causes of such hunting? What are the effects on the animals, and on the wider human society in these countries and beyond?

Nowadays, poaching is considered an alarming phenomenon in numerous countries, especially in Asia and Africa areas. This essay will discuss some main causes and effects that this phenomenon poses to wild animals and the community. In terms of causes, illegal hunting can bring an enormous profit to poachers. This is because of an increasing demand from a large number of wealthy people. These people believe wild animals' body parts such as ivory, horns, and furs are symbols of wealth and success or have medicinal value. For example, many wealthy business owners in Vietnam are sought after for rhinos horns that originated from Africa because there is a myth that these items can cure cancer or nourish the body. Another reason is the poverty that many people, particularly in isolated areas, must cope with. They are forced to go hunting to make a living. Turning to the effects of poaching, this phenomenon can lead to the threat of extinction of many species. Besides climate change or deforestation, illegal hunting is considered one of the factors that have a serious effect on animal extinction. In turn, wild animals’ extinction will have a huge impact on the food supply and ecosphere of their surrounding habitat. For example, if a kind of bat disappeared in a specific rural area, the number of their prey such as pests on neighbouring paddle fields would increase drastically. Furthermore, by creating a loss of species diversity, poaching can also harm humans in several ways. Using the previous example, poaching may have an indirect impact on decreasing the pest control that supports agriculture in a region. This could adversely affect the crop yield of the local community. To sum up, the reason behind the hunting of wild animals is associated with the monetary gain it provides to the hunters and the poverty prevalent in various regions. The resulting consequence of this practice is the eradication of numerous species, which can result in an alteration of the ecosystem and affect human agriculture activities.