Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often believed by a certain number of individuals that wildlife creatures should not be placed in zoos while others have thought that zoos are good for keeping wild animals. In my opinion, I believe that animals should not be kept in a man-made environment like zoos. The individuals who believe that zoos are necessary for wild animals have their own reasons. One of the major reasons is that zoos are required to protect endangered species. In other words, species of some animals are going to be distinct in coming years, on the contrary, it is crucial to save them and zoos are the best options to protect their lives. For instance, according to a survey conducted in India, the white tiger is the most endangered species and only five tigers were found alive in 2022. That’s why, the Government of India decided to bring them to zoos to save the future generation of these white tigers. As a result, it can be said that keeping endangered species in zoos is a good notion. However, I strongly feel that animals should not be kept in zoos because providing them with an artificial environment can affect their behaviour badly. To elaborate, in zoos, animals are provided with a man-made environment like they are locked in cages and fixed time periods for their food which is completely different from their natural habitats. And this can make them sad and aggressive. To exemplify, research conducted in the USA (United States of America) has shown that a huge change was found in monkeys, more aggressive than those who were living in the natural environment. Thus, animals should not be kept in zoos. In conclusion, although both opinions have valid points, I strictly believe that zoos are not good for keeping animals captive and also other ways can be found to save endangered species.