New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that these days technologies play an important role in our daily routine. Young generation’s activities in their leisure time have changed due to the new technologies. This essay will explain how the positive sides of technology so outweigh the drawbacks To begin with, technologies grow rapidly, especially the Internet. In the internet world, there are many online platforms such as YouTube, Facebook, Instagram, Netflix, etc., where children can watch or learn knowledge for free. Since the internet knows everything, when children are curious about something, they can search on the internet for the answers. For example, my 10-year-old niece wonders how to cook fried rice, so she simply opened the YouTube application, then watched a video, and followed the instructions. Despite these advantages, using new technologies can also have drawbacks. Since the internet is widely used and there is no restriction on the content. Therefore, children may come across some improper contents and imitate behaviours without consideration. For instance, there was news of a teenager who killed someone because they resembled the behaviour of characters in the GTA game. Moreover, spending excessive time online can lead to a lack of friends in real life and will be unsociable in the real world. In conclusion, technologies can be adventurous and beneficial if children use them in a beneficial way as there are countless convenient contents. However, it is crucial to ensure that they do not spend too much time online and are still able to develop friendships in real life. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh its disadvantages.