Technology has impacted on the way people interact. These days, many people created and maintained through technologies such as mobile phones and the internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using technology to establish and develop relationships?

There is no doubt that with the modernization of communication devices such as mobile phones, the way individuals connect with each other in society has changed drastically. Earlier, it would take days to reach our near ones, whereas, now it takes just a second, which is convenient in many ways but it also comes with some drawbacks. In the following paragraphs, I would discuss the advantages as well as the disadvantages of using technology to create and maintain relationships. To begin with, the major benefit of this modernized way of interacting is easy accessibility. To further explain this, using dating apps like Tinder, it is fast and easy to get to know people from different countries who are just a swipe away. On top of that, flexibility is the second reason why using technology has the advantage to sustain contact with somebody. Even though the individual is miles away in another country, one can still video call with them whenever or from wherever they want, which really helps maintain all long-distance relationships. On the other hand, it does come with a few drawbacks. The biggest drawback is that it has become a platform for criminals to scam others. The term used is cat-fishing where somebody would use a fake profile to talk to someone while pretending to be good. For instance, there was a scammer who made millions of dollars by pretending to be a completely different person online and scamming people for money. This leads us to the second hindrance of using the internet for interacting with individuals digitally which is building trust online is difficult. This is because one can never know what the other person is doing in their everyday life and is hard to judge someone's character by just talking on the mobile phone. In conclusion, it may seem the easiest way to choose social media to create new contacts, but one cannot avoid the fact that it does come with a few disadvantages. So, people should be careful who to blindly trust while interacting on digital platforms.