Nowadays in many countries young people don’t communicate with older people as much as they used to. Why is this happening? How could this situation be improved?

In recent years, it has become increasingly common for younger people to hesitate to interact with elders in many societies. In this essay, I will explore some of the reasons behind this phenomenon and suggest some practical measures to address it. There are various factors contributing to this trend. The first is the rise of technology and social media which have led to a shift in human communicational patterns and their platforms. For example, the youth generation prefers to connect with social media such as Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp groups. As a result, they do not feel comfortable or confident with face-to-face conversations or with older people. The next reason is the growing generational gap, which is not solely based on age but also on values, attitudes, lifestyles and rapid changes in society. Because of these differences between them, younger people may not feel common about those two groups. Therefore they do not seek any need for interaction. For instance when compared to the attitudes of elders every time youth may think that they are not updated so it is very common to see contradictions between them. Consequently, now this gap has become a burning issue in many countries. To address this issue, there are several steps that can be taken. Firstly, the family has a crucial role in promoting communication across the generations. Parents should encourage their children to interact with older relatives and emphasize the value of learning about their experiences. Another possible solution is that social media companies are encouraged to develop some platforms or groups that bring intergenerational communication. To illustrate these companies can create groups or awareness programs that share the common interests of those different groups. Further, it is very vital to organize some events on the side of schools which give opportunities to deal with juveniles and elders. In conclusion, the decline of intergenerational communication is a worrying trend in many cultures as it has connected personal psychological developments and society’s dependency. Only through the measures discussed, we can hope to build a bridge between these two groups.