Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think this is a waste of money because people can get access to information on the Internet. Discuss both these views and give your opinion ?

Opinion on whether public libraries should be opened freely in each town by the government or be fully replaced by the Internet is largely divided. While many endorse the plus point of using solely electrical resources, I am more convinced of the government's uncharged public libraries provision being ubiquitous. Advocates of the internet-based library argue that the government is dutiful to present the common interest and welfare to the majority, in which the freedom to seek knowledge, stay informed, and expand one’s cognitive ability is included. Electrical resources and online libraries seem to easily address these concerns by giving free communal accessibility to newspapers, magazines, urban archives, etc. with just a click of a “Login” button. This solution is said to be more cost-effective and convenient compared to physical public libraries, to which appeared to be a fallacy. In reality, building and maintaining a public online service can be just as expensive, if not more so, than establishing a social library. Furthermore, relying solely on digital resources ignores the preferences of certain individuals, particularly the elderly, who often prefer traditional paper-based materials. Therefore a complete shift toward a digital national library system may not be suitable at present. In contrast, I believe that the functions of public libraries are beyond the mere channel for accessing information. First, public libraries today serve as multifunctional social venues, offering a wide range of services such as physical space that foster community engagement, intellectual exploration, and lifelong learning. For example, in Vietnam, public libraries organize events like "book camps" and workshops to stimulate reading culture, especially among young people. These activities are crucial for promoting literacy and a love for reading. Second, the approach of using taxpayers’ money to build communal libraries is desirable for promoting civil equality, as not everyone has the means or ability to access the internet.Public libraries bridge this gap by offering resources to those who may not have them at home or in their local communities. In conclusion, although the Internet offers convenience and vast amounts of information, I firmly believe that public libraries provide distinct advantages, including fostering community engagement, offering access to physical resources, and promoting equality among individuals.