In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In most countries, citizens are responsible for their healthcare expenses. Although some people believe that services such as these should be shouldered by the government, I believe that free medical services should only be free to some. There are several reasons why government should provide medical coverage to its citizens. One major reason is that paying monthly premiums may not be realistic for some individuals in the marginal sector. This is true, especially in developing countries where completing three meals a day for their families is a challenge. Another justification is that medical services are costly, particularly in severe illnesses such as cancer and autoimmune diseases. Aside from that, the people pay huge amounts of taxes for the government to give them security and protection. However, medical care is not the only concern in one country, poverty, education, environmental issues and economic security are only some of the endless concerns of the government. Thus, I believe that free medical care should be regulated and limited to those who are not capable of supporting themselves. For instance, in the Philippines, if a patient is financially incapable of seeking medical care, he or she is automatically granted free universal health coverage. But if a person prefers specialized care, in a high-end hospital room then he or she pays for the medical care received. In addition, the government can generate income from these paying individuals and it further supports the operation of the facility. This practice has long been applied to many public and private hospitals in various countries, however, there are issues raised about providing equal care to paying and nonpaying clients. The government should work more on developing the rules pertaining to quality health care without disparity. In conclusion, I disagree that health services should be free for all, rather medical coverage should be granted free for financially challenged citizens of the country, while the capable ones can help improve government health facilities through income generation.