The best way to solve traffic and transport problems in cities is to encourage people from suburbs or the countryside to live in cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that encouraging suburban residents to migrate to cities is the best solution to tackle traffic congestion. With this, I completely disagree. In the first place, shifting people from the countryside to cities actually worsens the quality of city life and aggravates urban traffic congestion. Firstly, this urbanization switch would put immense stress on the city’s environment and infrastructure. A city holds and maintains a certain volume of residents based on its capacity. For instance, we have witnessed that people overflowed into cities to search for jobs, only to suffer poor living conditions and undermine local sustainability. Secondly, it greatly increases the urban population, making roads more congested. Since more people are moving into the urban areas, the residential, industrial and commercial areas would all be overwhelmed by cars during the peak hours. In the second place, there are much more effective solutions to lessen the traffic jam in the urban spheres. Most prominently, administrators can enlarge and improve public transportation networks. Instead of transferring suburban residents into urban citizens, it is more plausible to expand the bus and subway networks to rural areas. This urban-suburban interconnection can benefit all stakeholders by making commuting more affordable and convenient. Additionally, advances in technology can alleviate the existing traffic pressure and potentially change the whole future of urban transportation. Successful examples include Tencent’s attempts in Shenzhen of implementing the smart city transportation system. In conclusion, more people moving into cities will not address the existing traffic congestion, but instead worsen it. However, there are more feasible solutions, such as improving public transportation networks and investing in intelligent traffic management systems.