The government should control the internet to reduce cyber-crime and ensure safety users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

The safety of Internet users has become a matter of serious concern, over recent years, among people. Some people believe that to mitigate cybercrime, government must undertake the control of the internet. I partially disagree with this statement and the reasons shall be explicated in the subsequent paragraphs. Indeed, taking charge of the internet by lawmakers will bring transparency as legislation holds the prime authority among people so it will be having all the records of offenders and also of the general public which would contribute to reducing the crimes committed by technology. As Thailand is the best epitome, its government has control over every minor transaction done by its citizens which is why the crime rate is negligible in that country. However, it is most commonly seen that public servants took advantage of their power and try to suppress the facts for their own benefit. An example of this could be the death of a famous Indian singer Sidhu Moosewala, he was a great singer who was popular internationally, but as long as he stepped into politics and was unveiling the dirty secrets of other leaders,he was shot to death and then the internet was shut off by the government to disguise the facts and the mystery is still unsolved and the murderers are still not arrested therfore, if the government takes control there can be more misuse of it. Moreover,If higher authorities would control the internet, there will be monopoly of them. By this I mean, they can check any person's personal details and even some persons who criticise the government for any purpose can be wrongfully treated.To exemplify, Amritpal Singh who was a Sikh leader awaring warring Sikhs to connect with their roots was arrested and is still in prison merely because he criticised the present government. To conclude, Although by the supervision of officials there would be transparency yet I feel the government can use it for its own advantage to stay in power. Also,it will have a negative impact on the general public and the crime rate is going to surge not decline,if governance is provided to the supreme.