A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world?

Tourism is the main industry for a number of countries in the modern world. It is generating billions of dollars in revenue each year and becoming a major economic driver for those locations,, however it also has a negative impact for some reasons. Tourism while being the major source of income, presents substantial downturns. Foreign tourists are visiting tourist destinations not only to cater their needs but also intending to run their own businesses by bringing their own values and customs which can sometimes conflict with local traditions. This process precisely leads to the loss of traditional culture and the erosion of the local identity. Aside from this, individuals in the cities like Paris and Egypt have annually forced to experience vast overcrowding because, a big influx of people sustain visiting those destinations in order to fulfil their childhood passions but going in that way awry leaving glamorous places of the city waste products though it is prohibited and this is resulting in environmental degradation and contributing factors to a global pandemic. On the other hand, although according to the aforementioned argument that there are major issues stemming from tourism, it can also assist tourist places to uplift failing economies. Owning such places that attract people from around the globe always has the ability to create jobs such as, tour guides, restaurant workers and hotel staff and this is the indispensable part of this remedy. Because, no large enterprise wants to lose its source of income thanks to the ordinary service drawbacks, in this,case they provide their employees with a good quality of work time. Moreover, tourism can promote cultural exchange between the diversity of countries. This is because, it is interesting for visitors to learn about unfamiliar shared customs and beliefs of the country which leads to break down stereotypes and understanding between communities from different backgrounds. Finally, tourism had always positive environmental impacts because, if intrepid travellers support sustainable tourism practices such as, ecotourism and responsible travel, this will help to protect natural resources and promote conservation. Henceforth, tourism has both advantages and disadvantages and it is essential to weigh this carefully and correct mismanaging, try to minimize its negatives and maximize its positive impacts.